Organization Chart

Chart 1 of 5 : Describes the organisational hierarchy of the Department of Information Technology. The Ministry of Communications & Information Technology is headed by Union Minister for Communications and Information Technology, assisted by the Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology. Next in hierarchy are Secretary, Information Technology and Chairperson Cyber Appellate Tribunal. Department of Information Technology is headed by the Secretary, Information Technology. The various offices/ organizations under the administrative control of the Secretary’s office include the following. (a)Office of the Controller of Certifying Authorities(CCA), (b) Offices of the various Group Heads/Group Coordinators, (c) Attached Offices, (d) Autonomous Societies of DIT, (e) Section 25 Companies and (f) Advisory Bodies.

The Attached Offices of Department of Information Technology include Standardisation, Testing and Quality Certification (STQC) Directorate and National Informatics Centre (NIC) both headed by Director Generals. The Autonomous Societies under DIT include the following. Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC) headquartered at Pune. Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology (C-MET) headquartered at Pune. Department of Electronics Accreditation for Computer Courses (DOEACC) Society headquartered at New Delhi. Society for Applied Microwave Electronics Engineering and Research (SAMEER) headquartered at Mumbai. Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) headquartered at New Delhi. Education & Research in Computer Networking (ERNET) India headquartered at New Delhi and Electronics and Computer Software Export Promotion Council (ESC) headquartered at New Delhi. Electronics and Computer Software Export Promotion Council (ESC) though under the purview of Department of Information Technology but is outside its administrative control. The Section 25 Companies include Media Lab Asia, National Informatics Centre Services Inc. (NICSI) and National Internet Exchange of India (NIXI). NICSI is under the control of National Informatics Centre. The advisory bodies include Information Management Steering Committee (IMSC) and Information Security Technology Development Council (ISTDC)/Working Groups.


Content owned & provided by Ministry Of Electronics & Information Technology, Government Of India

GIGW Certificate, The National Portal of India : External website that opens in a new window

  • Site Counter: 10,575,143